Mind Blown: Jiminy Cricket is Kaidan Alenko

No offense, Mr. Sbarge, but Jiminy Cricket is not the most sexy character of all time. Kaidan Alenko, on the other hand, has given many a female Shepherd heart flutters without even using his biotic abilities. There is a strange disconnect between these two characters, and even after weeks of playing Mass Effect and watching Once Upon a Time, I did not draw the connection until it was recently shoved in my face.

Plenty of buzz has been echoing across the net for Mass Effect 3, including some early peeks at character art as well as a few explosive trailers. I’m working as hard as I can to get through Mass Effect 1 and 2 to be ready for ME3, but real life obligations and the fact that I’m trying to play a professional, uncompromising military mastermind slows down some of my gaming progress. But back to Jiminy-Kaidan.

Sbarge’s Jiminy character is not particularly comely, but he is thoroughly genuine, a sentiment I feel is paralleled in his voice acting for Kaidan. Both fictional men have a strong sense of justice and are good caretakers for the people around them. I think this post is approaching ludicrous notions by even making the comparison.

The point is, I have great respect for Mr. Sbarge. He seems to enjoy his work and is willing to pander to his fans. Just this past Thanksgiving, he voiced over Kaidan Alenko’s semi-love-forgive-me letter for masses of giddy listeners. He also posted a charity auction (you just missed it, sorry) for a personalized message in his uniquely – dare I say rugged? – voice.

I have also renewed my aspirations to work for BioWare. They are a hypermagnetic force for great talent, and I just need a chance to prove my writing skills. That’s right, this 14th day of December in the year 2011, I declare my intent to publish something so amazing that BioWare Austin will want to recruit me. According to their careers website, the “Writer” position requires 2-5 years of professional experience and a killer portfolio. Time to start world-building.

Published by

KTC

KT is an avid foodie/gamer/SFF reader with expertise in a variety of bizarre fields. Her love for technology, science, and internet media is only matched by her fondness for music, language and art. Karen is an aspiring writer with a meandering past. Her law and engineering books make wonderful counterweights to her fiction collections. She hopes to one day publish a novel, most likely in the young adult genre, but the future is an open book.

Post a Comment

