Flash Diet Day 2-4

View albumView albumView albumView albumView albumView album

Commentary:

  •  Breakfast is always eggs + veggie. Over easy is tastier than omelette, but I really wish I could have toast and soy sauce or ketchup with it. Alas, I am left with pepper and oregano.
  • I made a ground turkey sauté with onions, garlic, spinach and mushrooms + plenty of cumin and curry powder. It tasted like Indian tacos. Yum! I placed some in a ramekin and baked it in the oven with an egg on top for 15 min @ 300 degrees F. At Austin’s elevation, it apparently wasn’t enough time, so I baked it for another 5 min at 315. Sadly, it was overdone. Boo.
  • What you see salad-wise is generally a mix of the same thing:
    • Spinach
    • Sunflower Sprouts
    • Red Grapes
    • “Sunburst” yellow tomatoes
    • Almonds
  • TRIO = Austin Restaurant Week pick. I chose Salmon Ceviche (delicious, but not as awesome as the beef Carpaccio option, according to my dine-fellows), Flounder in Herb Broth (which is the dark monster in the pan that you see there) and I passed on the Goat Cheese Cheesecake with Raspberry/Pear business for dessert. (Secretly, I sampled the Crème Brûlée, which had a delectable layer of smooth chocolate, OMGaw DROOL). Mom loved the cheesecake, though. She plans on dragging the family to TRIO this weekend. Worth it!
  • Today, I had some leftover flounder. Isn’t it creepy how the teeth are still visible? I expect that maw to haunt my dreams. The fish is very light and flaky, but it tastes burnt and rather grass-like. The stench is hard to ignore. I also stir-fried some cabbage, onions, and julienned zucchini. I bought the julienne tool today and it has easily risen to one of my favorite kitchen utensils.
  • I am also soaking some white “great northern” and black beans for tomorrow. I thought the bowl looked particularly Yin-Yang chic, so I tried to snap a good shot.

On an unrelated note, my camera is aging rapidly. My sister laughed at its paltry 6 megapixel capabilities. Although I love the quality of DSLR photos, I don’t have the skills nor the $$$ to support such a purchase. I guess I’ll have to shop around or mooch the beefbeef’s camera.

Published by

KTC

KT is an avid foodie/gamer/SFF reader with expertise in a variety of bizarre fields. Her love for technology, science, and internet media is only matched by her fondness for music, language and art. Karen is an aspiring writer with a meandering past. Her law and engineering books make wonderful counterweights to her fiction collections. She hopes to one day publish a novel, most likely in the young adult genre, but the future is an open book.

Post a Comment

