The Lazy Pescetarian

My friend is embarking on a new challenge for the month of September. He is swearing off meat, alcohol, girls and other questionable substances. While I’m somewhat skeptical of his resolve to adhere to such a strict level of abstinence, it gave me the idea to initiate my own personal health quest. Dear public, I have decided to go pescetarian for the month of September. And to remain accountable, I will post results and food choices on my blog. Sound fair?

I will list my sources. As far as recipes go, I will rely on this plus a few other websites:
http://thepescetariansalmon.blogspot.com/
http://rosyepicurean.blogspot.com/

http://www.buddhagate.org/Vegetarian/recipes/English.html

and whatever I can dig up on menus around town. Austin is a wonderful place for food and diverse gastronomics.

Some items I intend to have in my house at all times:

  • tomato sauce
  • bananas
  • apples
  • eggs
  • salad (romaine lettuce or butter lettuce)
  • wheat pitas
  • cheese (laughing cow, muenster, cheddar and swiss)
  • peanut butter
  • wheat bread
  • pasta (bow tie, rigatoni or elbow macaroni)
  • ketchup
  • salmon
  • olive oil
  • tofu
  • mushrooms
  • pickles
  • beans (canned)

And if I think of anything else, I’ll be adding to this post. I’ll reorganize that list for later. Also, I will be in California for several days in the beginning of September, so I will try my best not to fall for the theme park temptations. Let the battle begin! Allez cuisine!

Updated calendar: http://www.google.com/calendar/embed?src=rke9tr4l7c76ra6kcq35c32tio%40group.calendar.google.com&ctz=America/Chicago

Published by

KTC

KT is an avid foodie/gamer/SFF reader with expertise in a variety of bizarre fields. Her love for technology, science, and internet media is only matched by her fondness for music, language and art. Karen is an aspiring writer with a meandering past. Her law and engineering books make wonderful counterweights to her fiction collections. She hopes to one day publish a novel, most likely in the young adult genre, but the future is an open book.

Post a Comment

